Australian Awards for University Teaching

National recognition of University of Melbourne staff and programs

Each year, staff from across the Australian university sector are recognised for their outstanding contributions to student learning and to the student experience. Universities are invited to nominate staff and programs for various award types, and within specified categories. These national awards are coordinated by the Office of Learning and Teaching (OLT).

Many staff and programs from the University of Melbourne have been recognised by national awards for excellence.

The following is a list of the three categories of AAUT awards. Included are links to University of Melbourne recipients.

The nomination process for these Awards is integrated with the University of Melbourne Awards for Excellence. Staff wanting to be considered for a National nomination must first make an application via the University Awards process.

Dr Victoria Millar

T: +61 3 9035 3751


Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Citations recognise and reward the diversity of contributions made by individuals and teams to the quality of student learning. Up to 150 Citations, valued at $10,000 each, are awarded to academic, general and sessional staff, and institutional associates who have made significant contributions to student learning.

Citations provide an opportunity for distinctive institutional missions, values and priorities in learning and teaching to be recognised.

Nominees select one of the four assessment criteria:

  1. Approaches to teaching and the support of learning that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn.
  2. Development of curricula, resources or services that reflect a command of the field.
  3. Evaluation practices that bring about improvements in teaching and learning.
  4. Innovation, leadership or scholarship that has influenced and enhanced learning and teaching and/or the student experience.

2015 Funding: $1,500,000 (indicative), $10,000 per recipient

Honour roll of University of Melbourne recipients


Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning

Awards for Programmes that Enhance Learning (Programme Awards) recognise learning and teaching support programmes and services that make an outstanding contribution to the quality of student learning, and the quality of the student experience of higher education. Up to 12 Programme Awards across six categories, valued at $25,000 each, are awarded to programmes and services that demonstrate effectiveness through rigorous evaluation that will set benchmarks for similar activities in other institutions.

The six Programme Award categories:

  1. Widening participation, encompassing approaches to learning and teaching, and/or student experience which enhance student access, widen participation, and support progression.
  2. Educational partnerships and collaborations with other organisations, encompassing partnerships between universities, and universities and other organisations—such as schools, private higher education providers, registered training organisations, professional bodies, businesses and industries in collaborative approaches to learning and teaching.
  3. Innovation and flexibility in curricula, learning and teaching, encompassing approaches to learning and teaching that afford flexibility in time, place and/or mode of learning and innovations that encourage novel approaches to learning and teaching, innovations that align assessment with curriculum design, innovations that encourage or support multidisciplinary, research-based learning and teaching approaches, innovations that utilise the potential of new and/or emerging technologies.
  4. Postgraduate education, encompassing programs and other activities that focus on postgraduate students, postgraduate coursework learning and teaching, postgraduate research supervision and research higher degree candidature and postgraduate learning support.
  5. Student experiences and services supporting learning, development and growth in higher education, encompassing services directly related to student learning such as services for specific groups of students, information access, course advising, language and learning support, counselling and disability support. Quality of learning engagement and other learning and teaching experiences within large student groups to sustain and retain students, student enhancement, whole personal development learning and the quality of the first-year student experience.
  6. Global citizenship and internationalisation, including valuing and enhancing the international student experience, student exchange, international recruitment, transition programs for international students and internationalising the curriculum.

2015 Funding: $300,000 (indicative), $25,000 per recipient

Honour roll of University of Melbourne recipients



Awards for Teaching Excellence

Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards) celebrate a group of the nation’s most outstanding university teachers who have made a significant contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching in higher education. Up to 16 Teaching Awards, valued at $25,000 each, are allocated across eight categories. Teaching Awards recognise teachers, including individuals and teams, renowned for excellence in teaching.

The eight categories of Teaching Awards are:

  1. Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies (including Agriculture, Animal Husbandry, Medical Sciences and Nursing, etc.)
  2. Early Career – open to staff with no more than five years’ experience teaching in higher education institutions. The five years can be non-sequential and must be counted on a semester basis. This includes all tutoring and part-time teaching. The selection panel will consider the career stage of nominees when assessing assessment criterion 5.
  3. Humanities and the Arts
  4. Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies
  5. Neville Bonner Award for Indigenous Education– up to two awards are open to Indigenous and non-Indigenous academic staff; nominees must demonstrate their contribution to Indigenous education
  6. Physical Sciences and Related Studies (including Architecture, Building and Planning, Engineering, Computing and Information Science)
  7. Social and Behavioural Sciences (including Psychology and Education)
  8. The Priority Area for 2015 is: High impact intervention for progression, retention and attainment.

2015 Funding: $400,000 (indicative), $25,000 per recipient

Honour roll of University of Melbourne recipients



For more detail about the OLT, including the award and grants schemes, see the OLT website.